Sparkling Wine

Sparkling Wine

Overall Impression:

Champagne is a province in north east France containing three towns producing champagne: Rheims, Épernay, and Ay. Champagne developed out of a natural problem of very cold winters which stopped fermentation before the wine went into the bottle. When temperatures warmed up in the spring fermentation began again in the bottle, often causing the bottle to explode.

Champagne is typically a blend of three grape varieties: Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, and Pinot Meunier. Blanc de Blancs is a style made with only Chardonnay and Blanc de Noirs is a style made only with black grapes. Champagne is usually around 12.5% alcohol and has 6 atmospheres of pressure. The traditional method of champagne making is labor intensive and involves many complicated steps. Outside the province of France, this wine type is commonly referred to as Sparkling Wine.

Scroll down

Supporting fermentation products

Join our newsletter